NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Saturn

As I'm new to all this I was wondering what's the earliest Saturn will be rising? Will I still need to be going out early morning to get a view?

And will it rise early enough to get as high as Jupiter can get at around midnight?

Regards

Chris

At the moment Saturn is rising very late (or early however you wish to think of it :p), I have been out there around 4-5 am recently for observing and attempting to image it.

Soon it will be available much earlier at a reasonable time though, but I don't think its going to be as high as Jupiter :(

Dan

Hi Chris,

Have you got the Stellarium freeware planetarium package ?

You can set your location in it and it will tell you stuff like this for all manner of astro objects.

From a quick look at my version of Stellarium it looks like Saturn is rising around about 1 am and it highest around 4 am. It's not as high in the sky as Jupiter by any means though. Rather low compared to last year I think.

Thanks for that, I've got an iPad app called sky walk and it gives me rise and setting times, but ill look into that right now, that sounds like a very handy bit of software, and I'm happy to know it will eventually get earlier, I'm unable to get out at the times like 3-4 in the morning due to work and so on, but thanks for the info appreciate it a lot.

Regards

Chris

Saturn reaches opposition at the end of April & will be at around Mag +0.34 (around 1am) but wont get above 30degrees, I've been told to make the most of it as it'll be a good few years before it'll be as good as this again. I'd strongly recommend you make the effort as I saw it for the first time through my scope a couple of weeks ago (5am) & the sight is breathtaking.

Steve

Definitely make the most of it this year, as over the next few years opposition is creeping into the summer with the associated low altitude ecliptic. Won't really improve until we'll into the 2020s :(