Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Processing a webcam image

redneon

As I finally got semi-clear skies last night I took the scope out to try a get a decent shot of Jupiter. This is what I got:

Given the amount of freezing fog in the air I'm happy with how this has turned out.

This is the image after stacking, though. There's no processing on it whatsoever (apart from the wavelets stuff in Registax). All of the image processing tutorials I can find seem to be geared towards DSO processing so I'm not really sure what I could/should do to improve this image. I was contemplating scaling it up by 120-150% to make it look larger but would that be a bit disingenuous?

Any help or constructive criticism on the image would be much appreciated.

I've had a quick look at your image in cs5 (photoshop) & although im no expert I dont think it really needs anything doing to it, its a really good image, if you take the size up a bit you could start to lose detail & risk it becoming slightly 'blocky'. I'd be very happy with that, nice one :smiley: If i'm wrong then i'm sure someone will be along soon to correct me :grin:

Steve

Yeah, I think I'm probably a bit over-critical. If anything, I think it's too bright. It looks a bit washed out. I did remember this morning that the video I was recording I had to stop manually because the next door neighbour's spotlight came on. I got about 2:40 out of an attempted 3 minute recording. The thing is, I didn't remove the spotlight spoiled frames from Registax so I wonder if I'd get a better result if I removed them... I'll have to give it a try tonight.

Oh, that's much better! Thanks :) Just out of interest, what did you do? I've got GIMP and Photoshop CS2 and was going to have a play myself later. I'm completely new to the processing side of things, though.