NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

first scope help

Hi there gonna have to admit to being a complete noob on whats the best scope for money and all that comes with it..

i have been doing a lot of research though and i have a possible budget of £400-£500..

i have toyed with the idea of a GOTO system but decided against that as it's just a gadget i could probably do without for now..

so my main choice is going to have to the sky watcher 200p dob or 250px now is there much difference between the 8 and 10 " for the cost , or am i better off getting the 8" and getting more toys to add to it..

also what collminator is worth buying is there easier ones to buy as i'm seeing laser ones?

any advice on filters and eye peices

i also have a great love for photography and own a sony alpha 290a dslr is it worth buying a t2 adapter for my sony, i have seen one with a x2 barlow built in is it worth the extra money..?

and my final question for now (sorry there are lots) is google sky map any good.. i had onefor my iphone that worked really well but i have changed phones and not had a chance to see if google works well..

in advance many thanks..

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

hi there, I have been checking out the skywatcher 200p or the 150p as my second scope. the advice i got was make sure the mount is sufficient for the scope, so look at an EQ5, which can be upgraded with single or dual motors, synscan GOTO, and so on. lucky you for having a budget that big, money is always tight for me, so i'm having to scout round and find the best second hand deals. I found reading a few books such as the Philips astronomy series, the Patrick Moore's practical astronomy series, micheal covington's book on dslr astrophotography and my favourite, Turn Left At Orion.

Nat