Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Jupiter - blurry pictures, any suggestions?

stair

I'm fairly new to Astronomy and AP, so I was wondering if I could get some pointers on how to improve my images of Jupiter?

I'm using a Skywatcher Explorer 300P on a NEQ6. The Camera is an unmodified Canon 450D connected to either a 5x barlow (image 3379) or a 2x barlow (image 3400 & 3402).

The problem I'm having is that the images are blurry, and I can't seem to get them sharp.

IMG_3379 taken on the 28th Nov, ISO 800, 1/20 sec

IMG_3400 & 2 taken on the 4th Dec, ISO 400, 1/80 sec

I've got a few ideas - not sure which (if any) could be causing me the problems:

• Light pollution? I'm in London, so it's about as bad as it gets :sad:
  • Focuser - it's the standard SW one without the dual speed control so quite difficult to get precise focus. I'm going to get a Bahtinov mask, hopefully that will help
  • Bad seeing?
  • Collimation? I checked with a laser collimator before the session, but I've heard they aren't foolproof
  • Scope temperature? It's stored in a cool garage, then I give it an hour or so outside, so I think it should be at ambient temp by then.
  • Would stacking help me at all?

Thanks!

Alastair

post-22869-0-24282900-1354807786_thumb.j

post-22869-0-71878100-1354807791_thumb.j

post-22869-0-14387400-1354808048_thumb.j

Actually it looks pretty good for a single frame. The trick to planetary, like carean01 says, is to use registacks on movies you've shot.

Stacking and enhancing in Registax will make a ton of difference. You should be able to film with your DSLR or do like many people do, attatch a webcam. Since the planet at this magnification gets so blurry, the extra large sensor of the DSLOR wont give you enhanced clarity. You get a similar image with a much cheaper webcam.

Are you using a remote release to get the picture or setting the camera to have a 2 or 10 second delay before the shot is taken?