NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Your input is needed!

Azure

Hey all, I'm a student currently doing my as levels at sixth form, and I want to go on to study physics at university. My school have selected me to take an as level called the extended project - it's essentially got to be a 6000 word dissertation on any topic you want - and I want to try and link it to astronomy/or at least that side of science if possible. So what better place to get ideas than here eh?

So basically, I need a question. It has to be open enough for some controversy, argument, and depth for extensive research and opinion etc. but not so ambiguous that it becomes messy and diffuse, with no real structure.

Some ideas I've thrown about include;

Is there life outside of earth?

Is the likelihood of finding life close to Earth high?

Should we continue to fund space exploration? Has it fulfilled it's purpose?

What's the meaning of life? Do we occupy a significant space in the universe?

Can God and The Big Bang co-exist as theories of creation? Does one make the other obsolete?

Other ideas I've had include everything from space commercialization to religion vs science etc.

Let me know what you think, and any ideas at all are welcome, try to keep them science-y-ish though!

"Should we continue to fund space exploration? Has it fulfilled it's purpose?"

This does it for me. Along with, should we fund further manned space exploration, or is just robotic / probe exploration sufficient?

Can God and The Big Bang co-exist as theories of creation? Does one make the other obsolete?

I'd avoid this one like the plague. I genuinely can't see that you can go anywhere useful with it.

James

"Should we continue to fund space exploration? Has it fulfilled it's purpose?"

This does it for me. Along with, should we fund further manned space exploration, or is just robotic / probe exploration sufficient?