Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Scope advice sought

I've been observing the sky on and off for more than 20 years now and have progressed from small refactor to 6", 8", and 10" dobs. The 10" scope was sold off last year as I found it staying stored away more than anything with family life taking priority most of the time.

So... Last August I bought a pair of Pentax PCF WP ii 10x50 binos for a quick grab and go setup and these have been fab. Have seen many DSO's with them (Beyond the obvious.. M51, M101, M33, North American Nebula, many globulars, etc). In fact, the Pentax's are the first time I've ever seen the NA Nebula - so these are defo my current wide field instrument of choice right now.

However, I'm looking a scope again. Not a large scope - it must be very portable this time round. I'm looking the scope for closer inspection (i.e. full resolution) of the planets, tight clusters such as M11 / The Auriga clusters / NGC star clusters, plus partial resolution of the brightest Globs (e.g. M13, M3, etc).

The scope I have in mind at the moment is a MAK 127 (either Celestron or Skywatcher - they are essentially the same) but I'm just not 100% sure if this scope if the right choice.

I was wondering if anyone could give a little advice on these scopes. I'm aware of the long focal length and narrow field of view, but I still suspect that most DSOs will fit into the FOV with a 25 / 32mm eyepiece. I'm not concerned about large DSOs as that is what I'm using the binos for.