NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Never had a refractor

I've decided to get a Celeston 90mm LCM 660f/l. Already have a 10" dob. Just a grab and go to view the sun, moon, planets. What can I expect? And what is the top useful magification for its size. Thanks, Pat

should be good for the moon and jupiter, my fracs pretty good for them and it 90 mm 910 fl,

a 10mm in yours will give 66x mag , 90 in mine and i dont push it much more than that.

im sure someone with more knowledge will be along to give you some more indepth info cos im fairly new to this :laugh:

I'm not sure, so bear with me on this one. By way of reference, I'm looking at this

You might find that the tripod is a tad lightweight and if its payload capacity is only about two and half kilos I can imagine that in the future its going to cause you some issues. Also, due to its very limited load capacity, I can't really see how useful this mount would be if you wanted to get some upgrades like a bigger viewfinder or heavier, higher magnification EPs etc. Just a 9x50 viewfinder and a 5mm Hyperion, for example, is already weighing in at about a kilo. Moreover, other than using the mount with the supplied OTA, I feel you're restricting yourself if ever you fancy getting yourself another frac, for example, but not wanting to fork out on another mount.

Again, a lot of the money is probably going into the computer driven system, so unless it is really necessary for you to have, I'd prefer to put that cash into the optics and just learn the art of star hopping - which really isn't that difficult.