Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

DSLR camera for my scope

Hullo to you all,

I have a Synscan Explorer 130p GOTO a-z Telescope.(2" eyepiece)

Being a Newbie I would appreciate some advce on a suitable DSLR camera.

Taking pictures of planets is my interest. Maybe some Astro pictures as well although I do not think this is possible with my equipment.

I have about £350 available and I thought a Nikon D3100 DSLR would be OK. ( Also a nice Xmas present for the wife)

Please advise the accessories I would need, T pieces etc.

Thanking you all in advance.

Alan

Hi Alan and welcome.

If your interest is in planetary (which would match you mount type - alt az) then I would suggest webcam imaging. A lot of people use a philips SPC camera (if you can get hold of one)

The Nikon D3100 is a very capable DSLR but for astro work Canon's are better supported in terms of software etc.

To connect to your scope you are correct you need a T adapter and relevant T thread for your chosen DSLR.

There is nothing wrong with the Nikon, however, as have been noted, the Canon has software support, and lots of users here that can help you out with any questions you have regard Canon.

So go with the Canon unless you're biased like me, or have any other reasons to go Nikon.

canon is definitely the choice for most of us doing AP. But planetary i would suugest webcam. Also you have alt/az mount, for DSO's EQ mount would be better and make things easier. But for planetary web cam.

I have canon 40D modded as this what a camera i already owned so was the cheaper option. It performs very well.

velvdet

You have an az mount which would not work for long exposure photography as you will get field rotation (the view rotates as the scope tracks) and you won't get the tracking accuracy from such a light mount anyway - sorry to be blunt but its best you don't spend money on a system that won't work.