Total Beginner binos or scope advice please

Hi there, im totally new to astronomy, i have been looking at the advice given and binoculars seems to be a great start, the only problem i have is im practically blind in one eye so when using binoculars in the past i tend to shut that eye anyway.

Should I be looking for a good starter scope or are binos the way to go still.

Thanks

Zac

Hi Zac, I started buy just looking up with my eyes, learning some constallations, then using binos on targets like Orion, andromeda, the great cluster in hurcules, Jupiter.

However it wasn't long before I wanted a telescope. I think either will a great start.

The amount of stars revealed through binos is amazing.

Chris

Binos have a wider field of view and lower magnification, so it's much easier to find what youre looking for. If you could find a monocular with about 8 x 50 or 10 x 50, then that may work, but I suspect they may be more expensive than a pair of binoculars.

I got a pair of Nikon 10 x 50 binocs for £70,

Hi Zac

I have a lazy eye that is almost useless myself so can fully appreciate your dilemma. I do use bins myself although often wonder if I'm really getting the benefit. However they still give me great views and I certainly wouldn't let it put you off.

If you wish to start by using bins then I reckon "go for it"

You can get a very respectable pair of Rocktrail 10x50's from Liddl for around £15 so you don't need a massive outlay. I'd be tempted to get a good basic scope as well if I were yourself - the Skywatcher 130P newtonian on an equatorial mount is a good first instrument - alternatively a 150P on a dobsonian mount will give pleasing views for a similar price range. All depends on your budget really. Have a look at First Light Optics website for ideas and prices. :)

I've looked into this before because my mum similarly only has sight in one eye.