Collimation Problems?

I think I might be having a problem with the secondary mirror on my scope (250PDS).

During collimation, It seems to be centered under the draw tube, but it isn't in a position where I can see the whole primary mirror. Before I start fettling with the seconday mirror holder (it's a fairly new scope and I'm new to this!), does it matter that the whole primary is not visible? I'm guessing that the answer is 'yes', but want to check first, if anyone can help??!!??

Thanks

RA

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks, I've read the astrobabe guide (and in part did my collimation from it), That, and all the other guides I've read all say to have the mirror clips showing, but my secondary, from new, is a long long way away from that.

Is it normal for Skywatcher to have it so far out from factory, or could it be something other than the secondary position causing the problem?

It sounds like the secondary is almost correct, now you have to adjust the secondary tilt screws to get the three mirror clips showing.

While your adjusting the tilt you should keep checking that the secondary is still showing as a circle slap bang in the middle of the focuser draw tube - it's too easy to rotate it slightly and not spot it.

This should get the mirror clips in view, then it's just a matter of adjusting the primary.

Read and read and read again Astrobaby's guide - it really is excellent and helped me understand collimation after 3 years of blindly fumbling around with it :confused:

Hi Starflyer

I've probably not been clear about my problem - I can't see any of the mirror clips! The secondary seems pretty well centered under the focuser, but it's almost like the whole secondary mirror assembly is too far toward the back of the tube, so I can't see the whole primary mirror. Bringing it as far out as it will go makes no difference, and makes its position to the focuser hard to achieve.