Would a Telrad help?

I'm a newbie with a Sky-Watcher 909 on an EQ2 mount. I took the scope out for the first time last night, and while I was able to easily find bright objects (Saturn, Arcturus, Vega, Albireo, etc.), I struggled when I tried to find dimmer objects.

For example, I never found M13. I understood the instructions in Turn Left at Orion - draw a line between Vega and Arcturus, split it in thirds, find the Keystone, etc - but when it came time to look through the finder scope, I couldn't match up the very few stars I could see with the naked eye with the many I could see in the finder scope. I know it sounds stupid, but there were so many more in the finder scope, and it was hard to tell which of the many I could see in the scope was the one I could see with the naked eye.

In addition to inexperience, another factor is I'm on the outskirts of London (near Watford), so the light pollution is pretty bad. I'm thinking a Telrad might help when star hopping, as the large field of view might make it easier to get from one bright star to another.

I'd appreciate any thoughts/suggestions anyone has.

Camoscato,

You need to be able to see the bright stars to act as an reference for the Telrad. However, if you can see them, the Telrad is invaluable. There are 'Telrad Maps' from the web that will make finding the Messiers very easy indeed, assuming you have reasonable skies. Some of them need reasonably dark skies.

Good luck

..... I couldn't match up the very few stars I could see with the naked eye with the many I could see in the finder scope. I know it sounds stupid, but there were so many more in the finder scope, and it was hard to tell which of the many I could see in the scope was the one I could see with the naked eye........

I had exacly the same problem and the Telrad solved it completely.