NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

DSLR imaging help please!

It looks like vignetting, but it's a bit lop sided, so not quite sure.

Did you do any flats? If it's vignetting the flats should remove that. It's a pig of a job to process images without doing flats.

AV 100 ISO point at a diffuse not to bright white light - same focus - do not move optics. Take about 15 and stack. Subtract them from your light frames using your stacking software.

If it's not vignetting I'll shut up and leave it to some-one else.

Carole

I agree with Carole this will be down to a gradient within the image, most likely due to vignetting. Flats will cure the problem but it's probably too late for that - which is where gradient removal tools come in. I use GradientXTerminator in PS; I think there is a free trial version available...

Thanks for the replies! I must admit, I don't think I've been giving Flats the credit they deserve. I am still very new at this and as I don't possess a light box, the manual (or bible) that I have been reading from suggested that the next best thing is to use a single bias shot and change the normalisation to 5000 and use that as the Flat. Do simulated flats work and if so, I'm now guessing 1 simply isn't enough?

Thanks again

I don't have a lightbox either. I take flats using my laptop screen (running Notepad maximized) with a T-shirt placed over the front of the scope and held in place with a rubber band .... no high-tech stuff for me! :D. I usually go for around 40. I think the normal rule is to aim for around 30-60% luminence on the histogram.

Sounds like an inspired solution, Andy! Same ISO and duration as the lights? With the short nights and the amount of time I'm still spending polar aligning, 40 flats will outnumber the amount of light frames I actually get in, but is more better?