NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Upgrading advice!

I've been dabbling in astronomy as a hobby for almost a year now, and am now thinking about upgrading my equipment to get closer to my original aim in astronomy - to one day be able to decently take pictures of DSOs!

So I have a few questions;

What scope should I upgrade to? I have a Celestron Astromaster 130-EQ, and want to upgrade to at least a 200mm scope. For imaging, what size/type scope should I look at?

What mount to get? I know a motorized component is needed, and a good mount is paramount (excuse the pun), so which mount should I be looking at? Is there a good scope/mount combo?

What camera? My dad has a fancy SLR type camera lying around somewhere (I need to find it), but are there any cameras in particular you reccommend?

What other equipment will I need? (adapter for camera to telescope etc.)

At the moment I don't have a specified budget, (probably around 500 + or -), so let me know what to look at and I'll see where to set my budget-ish

I know it's alot to ask, but I know you guys are terrifically helpful when it comes to needing advice! Thanks in advance! :grin:

- AZ

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I hate to point out the obvious but look at the scopes size and F/ratio. You could find a scope that looks like what you want then create a thread asking what views you'll get from it. That's what I did (though I haven't upgraded yet).

£500 isn't a big budget for astroimaging if purchased new but it's enough, especially if you are willing to go second hand. Forget 200mm aperture, you are probably better going for a small doublet refractor around the 70-80mm range. Decent ones are fairly plentiful on the second hand market. The shorter focal length will make it easier for you to work unguided and will place much lower demands on your mount than a larger scope.

An EQ3 or a second hand Vixen Super Polaris or Great Polaris will see you sorted with an adequate mount.