Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help me understand a few things?

Hi Everybody,

I'm new to astronomy, however since seeing saturn through a telescope in egypt i've been dead set on getting one of my own!

I done a bit of reading and ended up getting the skyliner 200p, seems what alot of people point to for beginners, and I will be messing around tonight hopefully (skys look clear right now where i am, hopefully will be tonight!)

Anyway, I just wanted to hopefully get some clarification in a few things.

My telescope is an 8" in aperature and I'm trying to understand how eye pieces and barlows change things!

Could I say as an analogy: that my telescope takes an 8inch resolution bite out of the sky - and thats all it will ever be able to take.. There is a limit to the amount of detail it will ever be able to display. Using different eye pieces etc can magnify and make that bite bigger but it will get to a point where it will get blury if you magnify it too much and the only way to get that magnified image sharper is to have a bigger telescope?

If my way of thinking is correct then what is the difference between these barlow lenses and eyepices? I understand they are both used to magnify your telescopes 'bite' out of the sky but whats the difference?

I have watched a few youtube videos of some guys talking about it but to be honest didn't make much sense to me!

Hopefully my weird way of wording things makes sense?

Cheers all!

You're new to astronomy. :(

A barlow isn't an eyepiece. A barlow is adevice which doubles the focal length of a telescope. Magnification is telescope focal length divided by eyepiece focal length.

Hahaha I really don't know why I wrote astrology. In some part of my brain those two words must have merged as I wrote that, please ignore that, not the best opening sentence!! Edited it now :-)

However your response is already too complicated for me to understand.