NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Sky-Watcher Explorer-130 (EQ2) Newtonian Reflector Telescope

Hi guys,

I am new to astronomy and just bought my first scope Sky-Watcher Explorer-130 (EQ2) Newtonian Reflector Telescope. Bascially I wanted a telescope to do some photography and stargazing. I asked the salesman about photography and he told me yes its a great scope for that purpose.

What do you guys think? Is that a good scope? It is scheduled to be dlivered sometime today. I was just thinking if its not good then I'll simply return it??

Thanks

The 130p is a good beginner scope for stargazing, but the EQ2 mount is a poor quality mount and vibration will be an issue.

The salesman obviously either didn't know what he was talking about or lying when he told you the scope is good for photography. You should be able to get moon and planets with a webcam, but the mount is not suitable for deep sky imaging.

It really depends on what sort of photography you have aspirations to do. I fear the salesman has sold you a bit of a line though ...

In principle, you should be able to do some planetary / lunar imaging with a webcam. The mount does not need to be motorised (as evidenced by all the Dobsonian users who do planetary imaging) but it would make things a little easier.

Anything beyond that (such as attaching a DSLR) is going to be out of the reach of that scope / mount combination. A DSLR will not be able to achieve focus with the 130P and the mount isn't really stable enough to support it without issues once the motors have been added.

Well I want to take proper high quality photos with an SLR, moon and plants initially and then deep space. Could I use ISO 400 or more and use really high shutter speed to handle vibrations? Would that work?