Ramblings and rants from a beginner two months in

Well I've been stargazing for just about two months now. I've managed to see Saturn, Mars, Venus, the Sun, the moon, and several stars. I missed Jupiter and the Lyrid meteors unfortunately due to some bad weather :D

Here are some of my thoughts :) enjoy

• Living in a highly light-polluted area, I am starting to regret getting a 130mm reflector. I can't see nebulae at all, and all my filters have been ineffective. Perhaps I should've gotten a smaller telescope with a GoTo. This would solve my space and storage problems (small urban NYC apartment) as well as help fight against all the light pollution just trying to find something.
  • Because I can't see nebulae that often, I might as well return those nebula filters. They were pretty expensive :D my rationalizing tells me that I won't get to see nebulae that often, but when I do I'll probably go extreme enough that I'll be up on a mountain somewhere and I won't have to worry about light pollution at all to need the filters.
  • High-powered magnification sounded cool at first, but with all due respect, there are only 7 other planets, and my little reflector can't pull in enough detail anyway. The stars all look almost the same to my eyes, so I've come to love sweeping the sky at a mere 20x magnification.
  • Stargazing is so relaxing. I have a ton of other hobbies that require so much of my limited mental powers :( music, for example--I feel so unaccomplished if I'm not productive, but you can have writer's block with that so you're helpless. In my inexperienced and perhaps incorrect view of stargazing, there isn't anything to create. Everything is just there, it all exists, and all I have to do is sit back and look around. No stress.
  • It's so great to finally understand the stars and constellations. For years, I have been told how to find North using the stars, but only now have I been able to truly do it, and really appreciate it too.