Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

trying to find the right scope help!!!!!

Hi all,

Well Im in two minds, Skywatcher evostar 120 ed pro with neq6 or meade 10" lx 90 gps !!

Im really serious about astronomy and want to get the right scope. My last one was the meade ls 6, nice but not big enough and a waste of time If I want to do astro photography.

The scope I buy is going to have to last me a long time and all I need now is a bit of advice on which one of these scopes is right.

Im fairly new to all this, about a year and have always had the gps. I have never done a polar alignment but have read enough to be confident to do it. I suppose my real question is what scope do you guys think is better for viewing. I know I can add the wedge to the lx 90 and it has gps and a bigger appeture but at the same time the focal length is smaller than the evostar so which is best and will give better views (especially if i want to start astro photography !).

Thanks so much I really do appreciate the help.

Andy

If you want to do astrophotography then you'll be much better off with the EQ6 mount rather than the Alt Az of the Meade (even with a wedge). The EQ6 also gives you much more flexibility on scopes, as you can switch between scopes easily.

As for which scope to put on the top of the EQ6, well that depends on what you want to see/photograph. The 120 is however considered a good all-rounder.

Helen

For astrophotography, an ED80 with and EQ-6 is ideal (you don't need 120mm and the focal length is a bit demanding)

For visual use, a C9.25 on EQ-6 takes some beating.

For deep sky, a huge dob...

Thanks helen I have heard good things about the 120 and I am seriously considering it. I am unsure about having to use a wedge with the meade.