Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie Perhaps In too deep

This is my first post here. Im 40 and have spent the last seven years trapped alone at home having a series of major back surgeries, fusion, total disc arthroplasty, etc.. An abundance of free time and a desire to see what's out there along with a desperate need for a hobby led me here. I've never owned or even looked through a scope before. This week I took delivery of a new Meade LX90 ACF 10" along with skyfi and skysafari pro. I'm sitting here looking at this thing thinking holy **** that things big! It takes up 1/3 of my living room. I'm going to a local star party in a couple weeks where I pray to god somebody shows me how to use this thing. I'm a tech savy guy but this is all alien hardware to me. Please someone tell me I'm not in over my head?

---

I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?cxk5rt

-N8

Hi

Best thing i can suggest is to search the forums - there is a load of advice.

Also go to you tube and look at the videos on your telescope.

That should get you started and then go out and use your new toy.

Start with the moon - even i can find that!

you got a great piece of kit

happy viewing

Make sure you have all the bits you need, thinking of power supplies and any cables etc.

Read the instructions, half a dozen times, and see if there is anything you can do with the thing indoors to get familiar with the scope.

I have a couple of ETX's but if I level it, aim it north and say align I can at least check that it is going where it should. You will need a star map to know if the scope is going to the right area of the sky.

People at the star party will be happy enough to give you a hand and advice.

But as I say get a little knowledge of the scope first, so that you have the basic idea of it. People may refine what you do but they are not really expecting to teach you everything from scratch.