Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Is my new Mak 127 dead??

Hi All,

I was hoping that someone could help me with an issue that I have with my new scope, a Skywatcher Mak 127 Supatrak auto, please?

I’m really enjoying astrophotography with the SPC900 webcam and started out with a Skywatcher 130p. I’m no expert, but managed some decent shots of the planets using a Tal X3 barlow – and loads of patience! :D I was looking at ways to upgrade the 130p, but figured the money would be better spent on a scope that has a proven track record with imaging. I know what the Mak 127 is capable of from some of the excellent shots on this forum.

I’ve used the scope a handful of times with Jupiter and at low magnification all seems well with crisp images. Use the included X2 barlow and you’re pushing it, unable to get a really clear image (Is that right that 10mm & the included barlow pushes the scope beyond it’s limits??).

The issue that I have is with imaging. I’ve tried imaging with my Tal X3 and the images were shocking whilst recording. I was completely unable to focus, despite an hour of trying. The stacked images were as bad as when I first started out with the 130p, worse in fact. I figured the Tal may be too strong for the scope and so I tried the included X2 barlow today. I’ve seen shots taken with my exact setup (including an extension tube on the Barlow) and they’re fantastic – again, I couldn’t focus and the final stacked images were terrible.

I’ve given plenty of cool down time, seeing was good, no dew on the lens, camera filter is spotless – I’m stumped!

Anyone had any similar experiences with the Mak??

Thanks,

Sean.

Im gonna guess here and say that due to the long focal length of the mak, using a barlow will take it way over the limit if using a webcam the x3 barlow will give you x750 mag with the webcam, try it without the barlow, how is the mak for visual work

Sean,