NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Explore scientific eyepieces

Markus531

I'm kind of new to astronomy. I just bought my first scope not that long ago, and with it I bought a relatively cheap set of plossl eyepieces. I'm now looking to upgrade to a better quality set of eyepieces and I was wondering if anyone had anything good our bad to say about the explore scientific 82 deg. F.O.V. eyepieces.

I've read lots of reports on the ES eyepieces on the "Cloudynights" forum. The concensus seems to be that the 82 and 100 degree ones are really good - very nearly as good as the more expensive Tele Vue equivalents. The 70 degree ones seem to get more variable reports.

The set of eyepieces that I bought is actually very similar to the one you described but it is from Orion and its not a bad set but I'd like something with a bigger fov. The higher magnification eyepieces in the set that I bought is like looking through a straw. The explore scientific ep's are affordable. Of course I'm open to and appreciate any advice.

Although the ES 82* are mostly getting positive reviews i think the 8.8mm might be one to be wary of.

Telescope Reviews: ES 82 8.8mm Need your observation reports please!

These might also be worthy of consideration although reviews are very thin on the ground.

http://www.harrisontelescopes.co.uk/acatalog/Celestron_Luminos_Eyepieces.html

Thanks for the heads up. I definitely wouldn't have known that. From what I have been reading it seems like the televue eyepieces are one of the best out there. Would my money be better spent with the televue wide fov eyepieces or are they just a over priced name brand.

Mark

I have an F5 Dob. I have the 11mm and the 14mm ES eyepieces. They are very good. Nice contrast and practically no distortion of the image at the outer edges. I love them. Never used a Tele Vue, but these are very good

Bart