Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Focus

Brief question regarding focusing. I assume that when I focus on a star/nebula/planet/etc I am effectively focusing on infinity? If this is the case, when is it I need to refocus when changing to look at another object? I can't believe (for example) when focusing on Jupiter and then switching to M42 the reason I have to refocus is because one is closer than the other!? Or perhaps i shouldn't actually have to refocus and I'm just doing something else wrong!?

Any and all explanations welcome!

That's a good question! As I refocus between objects as well, but is it because I tend to cycle through EP's (still getting used to what's best to use) and also I guess it's down to the atmospheric fluctuations especially when looking at planets? As a newbie I think I fall into the trap of trying to push the magnification limit and yet keep the image as clear as possible.

Well, there are big infinities and even bigger infinities :icon_salut:

You shouldn't necessarily need to refocus when moving between objects though, all other things being equal. For imaging planets some people will focus on a star using a Bahtinov mask and then slew to their chosen planet without refocussing.

James

Any object which is far enough away from your telescope to produce almost-parallel rays hitting the objective lens or mirror can essentially be regarded as being at infinite distance. In practise this would mean anything more than a few hundred metres away from the scope! Essentially then if a telescope is focussed on Jupiter it is also focussed on M42.

When you focus a telescope on "infinity" what you are actually doing is moving the eyepiece in and out until its focal point is coincident with the focal point of the objective lens. This is called putting the telescope into "normal adjustment".