Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

The questions of a fourteen year old

I have a few totally noobish questions to ask and i don't know where to go to ask them, so I suppose I'll ask them all in this section. Any help would be MASSIVELY appreciated.

1. For anyone who has experience, what is the viewing quality of the night sky like in Cardiff?

2a. I'm specifically looking for a Refractor telescope because I've never done astronomy before and don't really want to ever realign any mirrors plus I want to do some terrestrial viewing.

2b. I'm also on a tight tight tight budget of £100 (I'm fourteen years old and am getting a paper round) and I know there's not many telescopes for that price but I've found a few.

3. Anyone had much experience with the Celestron Astromaster 70AZ before? Just think it looks like a good scope for me...

Thanks in advance for advice you can give on any one of those questions :D

viewing in any town will be poor for anything faint (ie most deep space objects) but fine for moon and planets and double stars. Any celestron scope will be decent quality but dont be put off reflectors by the "mirror aligning" - I've had three skywatcher dobsonians and they've all been adequately collimated out of the box (and before the purist jump on me, I said "adequately, not "perfectly"). also, once you get the scope and have used it for a while, the "mystique" will lessen.

On a budget I'd look for second hand scopes. You pay at most 60% of the new price.

There will be an astronomical society near you and someone is likely to have a small, old scope that they would sell cheaply. I gave a 70mm away myslef last week.

Olly

Hi and welcome , well the night sky in cardiff will not be the best , but like the above posts say , they are still loads to see , star clusters , double stars, planets with lots of moons , our moon , even the brighter messier list objects .

Don't let collamination put you off a reflector , its quite simple really .