NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Astrophotgraphy

dorsetman

I am a very keen photographer and have been for many years and now want to mix the two hobbies together. I resisted up to now as I appreciate I now will need a go to telescope that can track so that I don't get star trails but longer exposure images. My budget is quite limited, maybe £3-400 and having popped into Telescope House in Lingfield (an amazing shop and some of the best and friendliest staff I have ever dealt with) I left with the impression that the Skywatcher Skymax 127 Goto would be the best for me, of course with a T adapter but am I right??? Can you knowledgeable and helpful chaps perhaps help educate me and make sure I follow the correct path.

Thank you kindly in advance!

Firstly, the most important piece of kit for astrophotography is the mount. You don't need a GoTo but rather a driven mount that can track. Secondly, to track accurately you need an EQ mount not an ALT-AZ. You can do decent imaging with a smaller aperture scope like a 3 inch refractor on a decent mount. Unfortunately you may need to up your budget! Imaging is an expensive hobby although you can get fairly decent images using a webcam and the scope/mount you were recommended but this will only really be suitable for planets.