Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Keep Getting Lost.....

I'm still a newbie so that's probably got more to do wuth it than much else, but I'm really struggling to find my way about in the sky.

The biggest problem I have so far is finding even the brightest stars in the finderscope. I've set it up correctly, and focused it, but when I look say at sirius for example, I can see it with the naked eye no problem, but I struggle like mad to get it in the finderscope. When I get close eventually I can see it and manouver no problem, it's getting it in the finder in the first place, so it's more a case of driver error, IE I can't drive the damned thing lol.

Is there a method to this, or is there an alternative "sight" I could use to get the finderscope lined up to then line up the main scope? Sort of a finder scope for my finder scope......... :)

Or is it more a case of practice, practice, practice? I don't think it helped tonight the fact that the clouds kept rolling accross, so as I thought I might be getting close, the target had disappeared from naked eye anyway. What I don't want to do is spend money on a goto, I think that might ruin part of the fun for me, but at the minute this isn't fun either :D

I can't quite understand, is the finderscope aligned to the OTA and focuser? Or is it that the drives don't work like you think they should?

You can get straight through finders for your scope, like a telrad or rigel. Many, many people have them and find they work well as a combination with an optical finder too. I normally use mine to whack a star in view.