Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Heq5 goto setup problems

Nicho

Hi all I've recently purchased a heq5pro mount I'm a relative novice when I comes to stargazing but have been enjoying looking up for the last year on my celestron astromaster 130 .

I've gone through the whole setup of polar aligment with my new mount which I've as far as I can tell have set up correctly using astro baby's guide. All went well aligning the mount this evening and then turned on my goto synscan handset .

Mount is in the start position .

All my star alignments are a mile out there not even close 20 degrees or so out would it be something to do with my inputs I've put into the synscan ?

If someone could clarify I've done this right I would be most grateful .

Location 000 01'w 50 52. ' n

Set time zone +00:00

date:mm/dd/yyyy 01/19/2012

Enter time 20:47

Daylight saving No

Polaris HA=02:10

clock=04:54

If this is imputed in correctly where should I look next ?

Nick

Nick,

You've seem to of covered most of the normal pit falls of entering the date in the wrong format or setting the time zone wrong. The only thing I can think of is have you entered the location in HH:MM:SS and not in decimal format ?

I think your coordinates are incorrect. Whiteley Hampshire is 001 14W 50 52N. Lat - Long Finder: This page helps you find Latitude and Longitude enter your town into the box on the right hand side of the screen (Whiteley UK) and the map will centre on that location. You can zoom in and pan around until your exact location is in the centre of the map. Then you can read off the longitude and latitude in degrees and minutes in the readout below the map.

Peter