NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

My first dip into the cosmos - advice appreciated

Hi everyone - my first real post to the forum and as you will see a complete newbie to the hobby. I've always enjoyed outside activities - most sports, surfing, hiking, photography and birdwatching but want to try something new.

I've read a lot (never enough I know) and decided to take the plunge and am expecting the Skywatcher Skyliner 200p Dobsonian in the next few days from FLO. I've bought a Colimator, a 2 x Barlow and another eyepiece 7.7mm so pretty much blown my (wifes) budget already but I thought I'd rather get off to a good start in this hobby and if my interest continues over the next few years then expand (I'd love to do AP but obviously Its a long term project bearing in mind the costs - but kids nearly through college so perhaps in the not too distatnt).

Anyhows - I've read a few books and looking forward to the live TV event next week then today I read on another website a chap from the US who took his telescope out , got distracted and eventually got dew on the lens (not the mirrors I believe) which then left spots on it after it had dried out.

knowing how cold it was last night I'm guessing frost and dew are going to be a big problem here in the UK so am now wondering whether I had better get a dew shield before I venture out of the bedroom. The heated ones I saw are about £60 + a power pack which seem about as much again. Having already pretty much blown my initial budget could someone point me in the right direction as to how important the dew shield is and any suggestions for one would also be appreciated (and any more kit I need to invest in to get started)

Apologies for being so long winded - but enjoy reading the forum even before I step outside in the cold and so far mostly cloudy S Wales skies.

appreciate your thoughts - Steve