Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Are Sony DSLR Cameras any good for imaging?

WhiteRhino

As a complete novice to the world of astronomy and astrophotography (and I'm still saving for my first scope and mount) Can anyone tell me if Sony DSLR's are any good for imaging??....seems a silly question i know...however i've noticed during my short time on here that most people seem to be using Cannon cameras for imaging! Is there a reason for this?

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'll chip in with an obvious answer, Canon cameras have a much greater uptake in the astrophotography community and hence are much better supported with sotware and modifications. I'm not knocking Sony as they make really good kit but it's support and assistance you may need in the astro arena.

You could take some very nice pictures with a home made barn door tracker if you can set the shutter to stay open.

I agree with Spikey.

You could use a Sony DSLR as I have seen t-rings for them and Im sure they have ports for shutter release cables and other accessories. However, your question about Canon comes down to several factors. One being the very large community of astrophotographers who use Canon. If you ever have a question or issue, it is relatively easy to find another astrophotographer with a Canon. Nikon and Sony are a little harder to come by, although the community is growing. Another big reason is the superior software for Canon cameras "out of the box". Most Canon cameras can be directly plugged into a computer with the ability to use live view and program multiple exposures (which is important when you are stacking hours of data). To do this with a Nikon or a Sony you will be looking for 3rd party software and may possibly need to modify your camera to do so. In my opinion, I feel Nikon, Sony, and Canon are very similar. But in the astrophoto community, Canon is the most commonly used camera.