Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hyperion v BST

sticks

Hi sticks, I have both in my collection and have to say it's a hard call because the quality of the BST Explorer is so incredible, so what are the differences? Well, the Hyperion has a wider FOV, 68 degrees compared to 60 degrees in the BST, the Hyperion is modular which means you can alter the focal length by using the Fine Tuning Rings (often referred to as FTR's, example: you can change an 8mm to a 5mm by using the FTR's). All the BST Explorers (based on the Astro-Tech 'Paradigm', see review here: Paradigm Dual ED) are fixed focal lengnth but I love them, great for planetary and lunar studies, whereas the Hyperion also doubles for deep sky in the longer focal ranges. Really it is horses for courses, but at the end of the day the BST's are smaller and more compact and pack a powerful punch for thier cost. I would choose the BST Explorer every time!

I've no experience of the hyperion but can vouch for the BST's. After researching here and other online sources, Robins website being one of them, I recently bought an 8mm and an 18mm (I don't get on with barlows) and I'm REALLY pleased with them.

Another thanks to Robin for his input!

Thanks v. much rwilkey I just caught your eyepiece guide page at Swindon Stargazers - a great help. I have a 25mm plossl that came with the scope and a 15mm BST that I can use OK in my MAK 127- the 9mm plossl that came with the scope is useless. I now want more power but with NVG seeing I think 12mm is probs as far as I can go. At the other end I want to see as much of the limited FOV the scope gives without going into 2" EPs. What would you recommend? After your comments above I was going to order a 12mm and a 25mm BST...? But you also seem to say that a hyperion would be better for "deep sky"..........