Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

THERE HAS TO BE A WAY!!!!

Hi guys

i didn't know where else to post this.....

Has anyone ever got EQMOD ACSOM to work with a CGEM mount, before everyone jumps in i know its for the Synscan mounts but its an open source program and there are ASCOM drivers for the CGEM mounts so i want to see if anyone who knows has had a go?

Drivers are essential a Operating Sysytem's instruction manual on how a piece of hardware works, those drivers are already written so why cant EQMOD be made to see them?

I'm no Software Developer (wrong IT field) & i'm sure there is more to it then that but it cant be that far away.

I love my CGEM mount, its great but the more i dig the more i feel i'm missing out on EQMOD and the apps like Align Master

Please Help......

:)

I could be wrong, but I believe EDMOD is designed to drive mount driven by stepper motors (such as Synscan), whereas CGEM uses servomotors. Stepper motor are controlled by commands which tell the motors to move by N number of steps to the desire position. Servo motors are controlled by an encoder feedback loop. The motor would be asked to move until the encoder senses the motor is at the required position, then a command is issued via the motor controller to stop the motor.

The two types of motors uses different control algorithms, which is probably why EQMOD won't work for CGEM.

Hi Alan,