NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Is that Jupiter?

Hello,

I'm totally new to astronomy, so forgive me if this seems like a silly question...

That really bright object in the sky, east of the moon...probably the brightest thing in the sky...is that Jupiter that I'm seeing?

(at the moment, I'm only using basicaly a "toy" telescope made by National Geographic...but I'm saving up and I want my first real scope to be the 8" Dob by SkyWatcher...but at the moment, this object just looks like a bright star with the 20mm lense, or a small bright disc with the 4mm).

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Have a look at it with binocs if you have some - when you get the focus sharp you'll see all four of it's closest moons (unless one's behind the planet) - you'll get a better view. Certainly sounds like Jupiter from what you say - congrats :p

Hello

Jupiter is slightly west of the moon. A really good program is stellarium (google it). It an interactive map of the sky and is useful.

Hope this helps

Stellarium is a fantastic tool! So glad I found that.

We joined the realms of novice astronomers on Christmas Day - and I thought I was looking for or indeed looking at Sirius. And suddenly thought 'why has she got 2 thick bands running across her??'. It took me a while to realise I was actually looking at Jupiter. Saw her moons too.

Very much a WOW moment!

Normally, work wise I'm on the other end of the scale - peering down a microscope!

Thanks everyone. Amazing feeling to be watching something that's so far away from us. Literally can not wait to order my first real scope. Might have to invest in some decent gloves too, as I've just discovered how bitterly cold it gets this time of night.

Bit confused over the whole East/West issue though...Things rise in the east and set in the west, right? So going by that, the object I've been looking at is East of the moon (slightly higher in the sky than and to the left of the moon).