Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which telescope for beginner

Hi guy's/gals

First id like to say hello as im a newbie, so hello peeps:)

I'm looking into buying our first telescope for my self and 7 year old daughter, she's been going on at me for months about the stars and planets and how she wants to look at them so ive decided to get her one as one of her xmas gifts. we will both use it so im willing to spend £200-£300 on a decent one but havent got a clue which, im a massive photograper at heart and would also love to get some great pics using this telescope with my canon 5d mk2, Would love some info in which to buy and why........

Many Thanks Andy

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to the forum. Two good scopes that come in within the budget are either the Skywatcher Skyliner 150p (£197) or the Skywatcher Skyliner 200p (£271). They are very simple to operate and will provide excellent views of planets and deep sky objects. They may be a little high for a seven year old but she could stand on something no problem. However they are not much good for astrophotography and if your really keen to do that you are going to have to spend more than your budget allows on a mount alone. I'd forget about taking photos for the time being and just enjoy viewing and learning the night sky with your daughter. Aperture counts second only to dark skies and for the price these two scope provide a good aperture.

Regarding astrophotography with your Canon 5D mk ii, there are only a relative few scopes which will cover the whole of the full frame sensor without severe vignetting and very few that will do it with a flat field (without buying an additional field flattener.)

If the scope you buy has a 2" focuser, you can still use that camera of course, but you might need to crop the image - perhaps not a huge problem considering its resolution!