Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie dilemma!

Hello everyone,

I am a complete novice. I've always looked up and wondered and now I'm going to get a binocular at the age of 52. At the moment I'm thinking of getting the Helios Weathermaster 111 water/fog proof 10 x 50s but I could be tempted by the Revelation 15 x 70s. From what I've heard, that's a choice between quality and quantity. The 10 x 50s would be useful beside astronomy as well. I don't fancy them fogging up inside either. I will be getting a tripod (Possibly a monopod for the 10 x 50s.) whichever I get. Any suggestions will be gratefully received.

Thank you.

Hi and welcome to SGL

The 10x50 binoculars hit the 'sweet spot' between light grasp and usability. You can use them comfortably without a tripod / monopod but will definitely need one for the 15x70s and larger bins / small scopes.

One tripod I can recommend is the Horizon 8115 2-way heavy duty model. These cost £80 approx and came highly recommended in a Sky At Night magazine reviw a few years back. As well as being extremely stable and robust this tripod has the advantage of extending to over 7 feet tall to allow observing at the zenith. I use this model so can vouch for them. The tripod comes with a baseplate that screws directly into the binocular adapter and is held in place on the tripod head by a tension clip. Spare baseplates are available for £5 each.

HTH!

Even 10x50 might be shaky hand held. I have a pair and find my hands shake after a few minutes espcially when they are angled steeply upwards. A tall tripod is definitely a good bet. What also helps is to view lying on a sun lounger. Looks strange but it's dark so no one will see.

Hi Aaron1996,