Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Looked at a Celestron 102GT at Costco

Took a really good look at the Celestron 102 GT from Costco. They have it for $200 with tripod and 5 eyepiece kit. Took it home and set it up was very easy compared it to my nexstar 4GT got to say was some what close between the two as far as fuction. The 4GT had better optics. What I found I do not like about the 102 GT is the size it is huge compared to my 4Gt and would be a pain to store and take places so I boxed it up and will return it. I did not know how big it really was intill I had it set up in my home and it just seems too big for my space. The other thing I noticed was the 102 GT was way to wobbly for my taste.

I have to say I really like the idea of the shorter Telescope much easier to store and move around. I am just getting into the hobby so I am not worried about having the best just the best for my needs. At this point I feel the nexstar 4GT really will work fine for my needs.

• 1 month later...

Amazing value... Our friends just bought one.. Longer tube than the 102 SLT also... Should be better for planets...

Would

Also make a great guide scope / panorama imaging device / spare hand set. It's a no brainer

I don't think a 102mm F/10 refractor will be steady on that mount at high magnifications. The Mak would be a better bet. There is a force called moment arm which means that long tubed scopes transmit vibration much more than short tube ones and therefore need more robust mounts.

An undermounted scope is such a frustating experience.

I don't think a 102mm F/10 refractor will be steady on that mount at high magnifications. The Mak would be a better bet. There is a force called moment arm which means that long tubed scopes transmit vibration much more than short tube ones and therefore need more robust mounts.