Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Understanding skywatcher mount types help.

jbk44

Maybe I should have posted this in the beginners area? I’m getting confused with the skywatcher mounts eq5, heq5, syntrek, synscan, eq6. Neq6 and pro. I think some are goto and some just track, but I have also seen people mention different gears here. Can anyone make this simple to understand for me please? I’m a beginner and as I keep hearing and reading that the best investment is a good mount I’d really like to buy the best one I can with confidence.

Thanks.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

synscan is a GoTo, the computer for it is in the handset.

syntrek is a synscan without the handset but with the same motors and motherboard. It can be turned into a GoTo with a laptop running a planetarium program (eg, Carted Du Ciel) and a telescope driver program (EQMOD) and a special cable to connect to the laptop (EQDIR).

"plain" mount has different motors and motherboard and only tracks. It needs hardware modification to do GoTo.

eq5, heq5, eq6, neq6 are all different and the load capacity goes up, left-to-right.

Thanks I’m almost there.

So as I have a laptop that I would be happy to use a ‘syntrek’ would be fine. So does the eq6 syntrek and the synscan have the same gears and able to take the same loads?

Also the software that you mention I guess comes at a price, would running that software be better than using the handset with a synscan?

So does the eq6 syntrek and the synscan have the same gears and able to take the same loads?

Yes, I am pretty sure of that.

Also the software that you mention I guess comes at a price, would running that software be better than using the handset with a synscan?

That is all free software. For imaging, you'd need a laptop anyway (ok, some people do without). For observing, it's quite nice not to have to set a laptop up, so synscan is great for that.

To summarize the EQ zoo, here a little description of all of them.