NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

New Society

Hi Stargazers,

I have been encouraged to start an astronomy club/society at work. I work in an organisation that has a large sports and welfare fund and the society would be a division/section of that. I used to be the treasurers of a share club and have a reasonable idea on how to run meetings etc.

I have never been to any other societies/club events as I'm pretty new to this astronomy malarkey :rolleyes: My thought is that we would hold monthly meetings, organise sky watching evenings, purchase some equipment for the club (maybe a few pairs of 10x50 binos for starters and then hopefully a big scope or two? The main sports and welfare fund are going to accept bids for equipment. So it should be a great way for lots of interested people to get together experience stargazing for the first time, and for us all to share knowledge etc.

I expect we will have our own website, twitter and facebook page eventually and my vision would be for some members to enrol in some online/college astronomy course and for us to have a photographic section... (lots of ideas)

The mission is to share knowledge learn about the wonders of the universe and to basically have fun... my first question is -

Is there anyone out there who has a simple constitution for my new society to adopt?

I would be really interested from other astronomy club members about what they do at their clubs?

Clear Skies folks...

HehHeh! Astronomy Malarkey?, that's a good start :rolleyes:.

Don't worry, I know you jest. If you live in a large town, or adjacent to one, chances are, an Astronomy Society already exists, so why not join that one, if indeed there is one.

I suppose a works AS is OK if there is enough interest. I assume you have done some investigation regarding the membership potential.

Binoculars are always a useful optical aid, but should your Idea come to fruition, a Society instrument should be an initial goal.