Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Wide angle eyepieces

Hi guys,

I'm looking for a 2" low power wide angle eyepeice, something like a moonfish eyepiece. However, my scope is f4.8 and i've read that wide angle's don't work too well on faster scopes? can anybody recommend a good eyepiece that work relatively well with my scope?

I was looking at this one,

http://moonfishgroup.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=50&osCsid=2bca792218e7e4cbd0d17002fb4b091b

Has anybody used this eyepiece with a short focal ratio newt?

Thanks,

Martin

Depends on your budget. You pay for good performance in fast 'scopes. The best eyepiece is the 31mm T5 nagler which has great correction in almost any speed 'scope however it's about £500 new. The moonfish (GSO) eyepiece works well in 'scopes past say f/6. That being said, it depends on how you feel about coma, like chromatic aberation it affects different people differently.

As an aside, I have a 30mm 80 degree GSO eyepiece (identical to the moonfish branded one) for sale second hand in the buy/sell section.

Steve (FLO) Recomended I buy a 26mm 2" Revelation which I duly did and am VERY pleased with it. You really notice the diffrence with the wide angle. I have an F5 scope and I think anything else just does not give much magnification, turns your scope in to a large finder scope! The revelation cost about £50'ish and is a beautifull eyepiece to hold, well actually its the only 2" EP I have but it really feels like a quality piece of kit. I 'think' it comes from the same factory as Moonfish so it is the same thing but cheaper :D

Blinky, the 26 and 30mm Revelation's (GSO) are 70 degree FOV so are different to the ultra-wide eyepiece in Martin's link.