Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DSLR Imaging - Now I See Why It Is So Difficult

Many writers on this forum indicate that DSLR imaging has a long steep learning curve and a great deal of patience is required. As a complete newbie no telescope yet (due to arrive Thursday) and no DSLR, I found it hard to visualise the problems. Surely you just attach the camera, point the scope, take a number of exposures, stack them (whatever that means) and then manipulate the images on a PC.

It seemed many other newbies have a similar aspiration, so I attach the following links to a series of 3 articles that have given me a dose of reality and may set expectations for others.

http://cobalt.golden.net/~kwastro/images/Pulsar_Spring_2005.pdf

http://cobalt.golden.net/~kwastro/images/Pulsar_Summer_2005.pdf

http://cobalt.golden.net/~kwastro/images/Pulsar_Fall_2005.pdf

I take my hat off to those of you who have already mastered these skills and produce the beautiful images you share with us. Perhaps you'd be so kind as to have a look at the articles and indicate how close to reality the procedures he describes are.

Mike

PS The cobalt.golden.net site is a bit slow

Mike

I think that the author of that article has made it overly complicated.

There are losts of things that he lists that sound complicated but you would do as a matter of course in setting up for visual as well as imaging.

To take pictures (at least to start with) you don't need all that Rubbish, I use a HEQ5, 300D, T ring, 2" adapter and a IR remote for the camera. This is, of course, in addition to the scope.

I do not need an autoguider, laptop, dew rings, GOTO... etc etc...

Now I am fairly happy with the results that I get, but they could be a LOT better, if I had GOTO i'd find the object quicker and get more RAW frames. If I had an autoguider I could expose for longer.