Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eye piece set....worth the money?

Hello,

Following advice from most of you chaps I've come to the conclusion that the 10mm eyepiece that came with my Sky 127 MAK isn't a particularly good eyepiece. Also, having read the Sticky thread on eyepieces its seems that with a 1500mm focal length telescope, I need a 9, 15 and 25mm at the very least in my set. Given that I have a limited budget I would rather start out with a few Super Plossl as they seem to be good value for money. I've seen this set from my local Astronomy shop and wondered if the purchase could be considered a worthy upgrade. They are branded as GSO Super Plossl

Stockport Binocular & Telescope Centre. eyepieces

Or is this revelation set better value?

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/eyepiece-sets/revelation-photo-visual-eyepiece-kit.html

Any advice would be truly appreciated

Scott

I'm new to this!

I would advise against eyepiece sets. You will find that they contain eyepieces you will seldom use as well as an expensive box to hold them all. Many contain filters as well.

Much better to buy one or two good eyepieces that you will actually use!

You have a 1500mm focal length scope so you need maybe a 25mm (gives 1500/25=60x) and 10mm (1500/10=150x) and maybe an 7mm (1500/7=214x) should do as a complete set to get you started. (Maybe a 15mm as well).

Decent Plossil's at around £30-£60 should be OK to start with. Going for anything more expensive is likely to lead to little more performance for quite a bit more money!

Don't believe the blurb that says you can only get a good image with a £300+ eyepiece!! In the UK the quality of your image is governed by the atmosphere, not the optical quality of your kit.

I think eyepiece sets are a good idea. They give a range of eyepieces which make for a useful upgrade to the usual supplied EPs, and make a good foundation for future upgrades.