SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Binoculars or telescope?

I'm new to all this and I'm close to buying my first equipment. What would you recomend? I'm a complete novice and know zero about telescopes. I've done a bit of research and it just seems so complicated.

I'm leaning in favour of a pair of Celestron Skymaster 20 X 80 Binoculars because they are simple and easy to use, plus they are portable. I don't want any gear that I can't pick up and carry around with me.

Please share your thoughts on this matter with me? I'll probably make my purchase in the next few weeks as I'm going on Holiday to a remote cottage near Holyhead in June and It would be a great chance for my first stargazing. If you want to recommend a product please tell me what it is and why you recommend it.

Thank you.

Carrot.

Hello Carrot,

Welcome to SGL!

Many astronomers prefer a nice pair of bins for a 'grab-n-go' instrument - they offer unrivaled wide-angle views that no scope can match. Be aware that any binocular over 12x is almost impossible to hand hold (they magnify your hand tremors along with the sky!). Such bins require a tripod. 20x80s are typically over 2Kg - much to heavy to hold up to your face for long periods!

A pair of 10x50, or at most 15x70's would be much better. Lighter, more compact, and much easier to hold.

On the other hand, if you have a camera tripod that will hold a full size DSLR, you probably have all you need to support a pair of 20x80's, and the views will be spectacular.

I hope that helps,

Dan

Thanx for your feedback. I have very shakey hands so if I bought a pair of smaller binoculars I'd still have to use a tripod. I already have a tripod that I use with my 35mm camera so I thought the 20x80's would be a good buy?

Hi Carrot

Welcome

I love my 20x80's but as Dan says you will need a tripod.