Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Mirror for Dobsonian

I plan on constructing a dobsonian over the summer and was wondering which mirror would be best to use. Two options I have right now are: a 114mm Astromart Classifieds - Telescope Making - 2 small mirrors and cells or a 127mm Antares OBJECTIVE MIRROR D=5 F=650mm, 1/3 wave, green glass [5F5] : Hands On Optics :: Telescopes, Accessories, CCD and Digital Cameras. The 127mm is also spherical instead of parabolic, would that make a big difference? Thanks!

Couldn't resist replying to this one :D. I've no direct experience of either of the options you mention, but on paper, the 127mm spherical mirror at F13 could be the best bet. At F13 the difference between a sphere and a paraboloid is almost negligible and as long as it is a good sphere it should perform well.

is there a reason you wish to use such a small mirror?

I'd suggest at least 6-8" as a first dob. this will reward you with far better views and almost certainly not cost the earth as parts are pretty standard.

Couldn't resist replying to this one :D. I've no direct experience of either of the options you mention, but on paper, the 127mm spherical mirror at F13 could be the best bet. At F13 the difference between a sphere and a paraboloid is almost negligible and as long as it is a good sphere it should perform well.

I didn't see any mention of the mirror being F13. The 5" mirror appears to be similar to the Skywatcher 130/650 which is F5. There also no mention of the mirror being spherical.

Peter

Spherical mirrors are never a bargain at any aperture or focal length.

They do not focus properly and will always have 'spherical aberation' which makes focus difficult and robs you of resolution and contrast.

IMHO, if you are going to build a dob from scratch, I cannot see the advantage of anything less than a 6" mirror. You deserve some reward for all your hard work and effort!

Dan