Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Binoviewers - advice needed

I am thinking about buying a Williams Optics binoviewer but am confused by the advice that they may not work on some Newtonians - does anyone know which ones they mean?

I have an f4.8 Newtonian and an f10 refractor, can anyone advise me if a binoviewer will be usable at these focal ratios or not?

I am not an expert but as no-one else has answered I will try based on my own experience. I have an F4.8 10" dob and my revelation binoviewers (basically, all the cheap ones are much the same in terms of what will/won't come to focus) would not quite come to focus becasue the extra length that the binoviewr adds means that there is not enough "in travel". the usual solution is to add in barlow which pushes out the focal point BUT (and this is quite a big but) the effect of the Barlow is increased by the distance between the Barlow and the e/ps (cos you stick the Barlow between the binoviewers and the scope. This effect can be mitigated by using a barlow where the lens screws off the barlow so that reduces the extra length (Antares do a cheap one like that). I found that a 1.6x Barlow did not make it work but a 2x Barlow did But it actually operated (and this is just my estimate) like a 5x barlow so my 20mm e/ps were actually giving me huge magnification.

Overall, i enjoyed it but I ended up sending the binovewers back becasue the pair I'd been supplied with (Scope n Skies, who else?) was actually battered about. I never replaced them cos I bought a guitar instead. Also, using cheap binoviewers in a big newt, for some reason some of the light path is blocked out - now I don't understand why that is at all but there is quite a lot of stuff on Cloudy Nights about it.