Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Equipment for Autoguiding with EdgeHD 8" SCT

Hi Guys,

Yes yes me again with another one of those stupid questions :)

Right so i'm in the market looking for more to make more purchases and hopefully not un-necessary ones too.

Since I own an EdgeHD 8" SCT which is on a NEQ6 Pro mount, I know that imaging DSO's will be a tough task with a few DSO's out there.

So basically I was told that I need a .7x focal reducer, an autoguider (was suggested an Orion Star shoot) and a off-axis (Celestron) guider which I know is a perfect combo.

Now here comes my questions.

1) Is a focal reducer really really really necessary? I know it will bring the f/10 down to a one full f-stop and make it faster but I mean I'm no expert in these f-stops, how does it boil down to number in minutes/hours?

2) What other autoguider options do I have? I do not want to break my bank with all this but if Orion star shoot is the best for that price bracket then I will go for it otherwise is there a cheaper and better version with whatever company? I've seen people use ASI and ZWO

3) I know off-axis will give me precision, again is this an absolute necessity to have?

4) Can I not hook up the autoguider with a finderscope and use that? My scope came with a 9x50 finderscope by default. Will this work or do I need to buy something bigger and better? If so then what would you recommend?

I will be in the market back again for a ED80 refractor too, so will all this equipment still be valid? If I'm not mistaken, the only thing valid will be an autoguider correct? Or will I still need a better finderscope?

I want to weigh in the complete thing, what would be more cost effective.

Thank you

Few things here.