NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

DIY powertank - Electrical Diagram

Vox45

So I bought all the parts I need to make my 1st powertank. Before I start a fire or blow up something I would lilke your comments on this diagram (crude)

- 2x 12v 7.5Ah lead-acid batteries in parallel to get 12v 15Ah

- I thought of isolating each battery with a 7.5A fuse and then link them in parallel and have a 15A fuse for the both of them (overkill maybe)

- not sure were to put the voltmeter, I assume it as to in parallel too

- the usb component I got are in a 12V cigaret lighter plug, so I assume that they are also fuse protected

PowerBox Schema

I am not an electrician so all comments and critics are welcome

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The picture is very small but the volt Meter just needs to be connected to the + and - of battery ... Possibly worth putting a push switch in between battery and voltmeter just in case it drains the battery when idle

I am not sure 15Ah is going to be adequate, and do make sure they are deep-cycle batteries, or else they will not last long. My 17Ah was drained too far so it got damaged, and replacement by a 22Ah proved very useful. I only really ran an RA motor from it, rarely a dew strip and still managed to drain it too far (storage in a cold garage didn't help either). Using a bigger battery allows you to cycle it less deeply, and allows more stuff to run from it.

You can click on it and it will get bigger (that's what she said)

I do have an on/off switch between the voltmeter and the +/-  so that would serve the same function as the push switch correct ?