SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

How much of an improvement can i expect to see?

Hello

I've been using an evostar 120 achro for about 8 months now. It's my first "real" telescope and I've been very pleased with it. I've seen details on planets, some double stars and even some dso-s. I do however observe from a very light polluted place, somewhere between 6 and 7 the Bortle scale I Think. All that with the supplied skywatcher 10 and 25mm modified achromat eyepieces and a 2.25/1.3X barlow. Last night was a typical night where the best I could see was close to mangnitude 10 stars. I hunted down the Crab nebula for the first time ever (at least that's what I think I did,  magn. 8.4 I believe) and it was barely visible; a faint smudge in the 25mm eyepiece. Not visible with the uhc filter. So that is my sky, roughly...

Based on the above, how much of an improvement can I expect to see with a Baader Hyperion mark III zoom? Would it be worth it or would I end up seeing roughly the same stuff? I figured it would give me about the same quality of views or better as a set of plossl eyepieces for the same cost. Additionallly I would avoid changing the eyepieces in sub zero temperatures and that zoom isn't something that I would change any time soon... It will maybe also help me figure out what kind eyepieces I would want in the future (or not)

The second question is: Does anybody have the ts optics uhc filter and can compare it to the Baader uhc-s? Any difference?

The third question is: I find it really tedious looking through the supplied finder and diagonal when I want to find stuff on the sky. How much does the performance suffer with a prism diagonal (Amichi?)? Or should I invest in a correct image finder instead? Or both?

Please share if you have any other suggestions.

Thanks in advance

I can help out about a finder, get a 9x50 and put the mounting shoe a little further "up" the tube, this will be a massive improvement