SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Dew a little help.

Dew,

Now this is a newish thing for me here in Bulgaria. I have a fair few scopes and it seems as if it is affecting the M/N 190mm (probably the 180mm Mak as well) and the SC 12 inch.

I have only had dew once on the 12 inch and that was many moons back when it got cold very fast over an hour or so. Lateley I have had dew showing up on these scopes even though they are all outside.

The other night dew cropped up after 40 mins and on the M/N and I switched scopes to a refractor which are not affected it seems .The M/N for example, when I put it away the dew went off the collector after 20mins even though it was still at the same temperature, only difference was a roof overhead.

Now I have coming an 18 inch open tube Dobsonian and after Christmas a scope from Orion ( 10 or 12).

I am looking for tips to help out here as I am new to this issue and possible built-in heater for the Newtionians, do they work and are they easy to install. any other tips and advice will be greatly received.

Sorry if it seems a dumb question but I always believe in asking those who know.

Alan

As you are getting your canopus built now Alan, I would ask Michael to fit a secondary dew heater as he goes. I have yet to see a truss dob that does not succumb to dew eventually. Well worth it and very effective. I know that some worry about tube currents and such, but dew will end a session dead whereas a tiny bit of heat turbulence will die down and you can carry on, if you even notice it?

I built heaters for my dob alan very easy to make. I have one fitted to the finder both ends,the secondary and eps. You can buy all and fit yourself,make your own, or as rusty says get Michael to pre install one now, you won't regret it. Also orion will fit and supply as well

sent from my fone using fingers

Hi Alan. I've had the secondary dew up on my Newtonians a few times.