NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Opinion on binoculars over telescope?

Hi there everyone! Thank you so much for taking a look at my question; any advice is appreciated!

To be up front, I know absolutely nothing of astronomy or stargazing. It is my boyfriend who has recently become extremely interested in it, and loves looking up at the night sky, finding constellations and using an app on his cell phone to locate planets. His birthday is coming up and I know he would love a telescope so he could pursue this further!

I emailed a local shop that sells all sorts of scientific equiptment and asked for their advice on what kind of telescope would work best for a beginniner. I also mentioned I'm a student on a fairly strict budget, so if possible, was looking for something for around $200.

The shopkeeper replied that I really wouldn't be able to find a decent beginner's telescope for that amount of money, and I was better off purchasing a set of binoculars. He recommended the SkyMaster 25-125x80 Zoom Astronomy Binocular. The specifications are:

• Aperture: 80 mm (3.15″)
  • Magnification: 25-125x Zoom
  • Eye Relief : 13 mm (0.51″)
  • Angular Field of View (deg): 1.25°
  • Near Focus: 30m (98 ft)
  • Prisms: BAK-4 Porro Prisms
  • Optical Coatings: Multi-Coated
  • Weight: 2155g (76 oz)

A link with more information if you're interested is:

http://quarkyscience.ca/shop/celestron-skymaster-25-125x80-zoom-astronomy-binocular/

So my questions are:

1.) Do you think this is a better idea? As a complete novice, I can't help but think binoculars are rather disappointing compared to a telescope, but I know i could be very wrong.

2.) Would I also need to purchase a tripod in order to keep the binoculars still?

3.) Would you be able to see planets with binoculars?

4.) Does this pair seem decent for the price of $195.95 (Canadian dollars)? Do you have any recommendations?