NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Jupiter help please

jambouk

I've done some planetary before, so I'm not a total newbie with this, but....

Finally had a clear night last night to test stuff out. There was a fair amount of star twinkle, and there was a lot of moisture in the air, but the sky was crystal clear (never sure which is transparency and which is seeing).

Anyway, at about midnight when Jupiter was high, I had a go at capturing data.

180 Mak on equatorial mount. Flip mirror and on the back of that a 2x Powermate, and then the ASI ZWO 120MC CMOS camera, connected to my laptop. I was running SharpCap2 to capture (first time I've used v2 of it).

Went to Pollox to focus with a Bhatinov (same elevation as Jupiter and a few degrees to the north). Got what I thought was bang on focus. Went back to Jupiter, got it on the sensor.

Got the area of interest down to about 640x560, and the tracking was pretty good so it stayed in this area for ages. I was amazed at how clear the bands on Jupiter were. I also noticed loads of dust bunnies on my sensor. Anyway, dropped the exposure time down to about 0.02seconds and the gain to about 50%; all other settings were default (it only allowed RGB24). Did various runs of 1.5minutes, and some longer with a larger sensor area and did some 'dithering' to see if that would help with the dust bunnies during processing....

Anyway, ran it through registax (v5 and v6) and I just can't seem to get a sharp Jupiter. The only thing which seems to be sharp are the dust bunnies. I've also run the data through PIPP to get rid of the worse 50% and still no joy.

So, is this poor focus, bad seeing/transparency, dust bunny effect, or something else?

Thanks for any advice. Images attached are screen shot of sharpcap capturing, a screen shot mid raw video, and a screen shot of the stacked image (adjusting wavelets does nothing to Jupiter, only to the dust bunnies).

James

post-25543-0-47851100-1385632419_thumb.j