NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

EQ6 Belt Mod (Belting Online)

sharkmelley

I've been wanting to do a belt mode for my EQ6 for some time now but other discussion threads have scared me off with talk about the need to bore out the toothed pulleys to larger diameters and modifications required to the worm housings, lengthening the slots of the motor mounting plates etc.

I'm not an engineer and wouldn't know where to start, nor what to ask for, so it was with great relief that I came across a kit of ready made parts at BeltingOnline:
http://www.beltingonline.com/heq6-belt-mod-drive-kit-12220
This kit also preserves the 12:47 gear ratio which means the EQ6 goto handset will continue to work correctly. 

Since I haven't come across an easily accessible set of instructions for fitting the kit so I thought I'd share my experience.  Happily I can report that none of the scary modifications mentioned above were required.

The kit arrived within a few days of my order, despite the website saying there is 15 working day lead time for manufacturing - I guess they had a batch ready prepared.  Attached is a photo of the kit of parts (confusing labelled HEQ6 instead of EQ6).

I followed AstroBaby's excellent instructions for strip down and reassembly with the main differences for reassembly noted below.

You will need a 1.5mm hex key for the grub screws on the new pulleys - don't start the job without one. It's a different size to the grub screws on the existing EQ6 gears.

The worm axle has a shoulder where the toothed pulley goes on. Assemble without tightening the grub screw (remember to assemble with the belt in place!) then tighten the grub screw until the pulley still slides on the axle but the grub screw hits the shoulder and prevents it going further towards the worm.  Then tighten the grub screw in this position.