Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Rob's 1000D Filter removal. (Hopefully)

K3ny0n

With the clouds not looking promising, I think it is time to spark the DSLR mod fire.

I have a 1000D and have not much experience with taking electrical equipment apart, but being an electrician I think I could cope with this given plenty of time and care. I am just looking at removing the rear colour correcting filter as I intend to use this camera purely for Astrophotography. How do you determine which is the rear filter? Is the rear pointing towards the LCD and the front pointing towards the front of the camera?

So, screwdrivers check. I have this set from Amazon. Printed off the screw sheet from Gary Honis's website to attach the screws to. Picked up a few food containers up to store the camera parts. Toothpicks are in the top cupboard.

I will be following Gary Honis's video, the only worrying part for me is he is modifying a 450D and some things are different, not a lot I know maybe some screws here and there. But hopefully with lots of care and plenty of time things will be OK.

Any advice, thoughts or things I have missed would be great

I will keep you updated on the progress. Fingers crossed.

Rob.

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Rob,

Use the video in conjunction with a copy of Gary's guide

http://ghonis2.ho8.c...elmod450d1.html

Go to page 4 of the guide and down to steps 26, 27, 28 and 29.

Step 28 shows the low pass filter 1 removed, this is the filter which contains the piezoelectric element which operates on the 1000D on start up and shut down - this is retained.

Step 29 shows the filter which is removed, it is obvious when you dismantle the camera because the filter is blue and is housed in the black frame you can see in the photo.

I have this document in word format modified to apply to the 1000D only, if you want a copy I have dropped a copy in to dropbox if you use it - this is the link to download it from my public folders