Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Minimum kit needed for Saturn imaging

Gina

I'm thinking of imaging Saturn but I think my equipment may not be up to it. I'd be grateful for views on this, please. Also, if anyone has managed to get images with the sort of scope and mount I have.

I have a Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ HD with the German EQ2 mount. The supplied motor drive I know is not much good and I'm hoping to make something better. I have various CCD image sensors including a Sony Super HAD 0.001 lux CCTV sensor, Philips Vesta webcam which I can modify for long exposure and also an MS Lifecam HD Cinema sensor which I believe is CMOS and can't be modified for long exposure, though it is much higher resolution. I see many people have gone for the Philips 880/900 webcam so I might buy one of those - they seem to produce very good results.

I'm considering saving up for the NexStar 8E as several members here use one of them, if my present kit is unsuitable, hence my request for your views.

Thank you

Regards

Gina